Rape

Your Case Is Our Mission

Goldsboro Rape Defense Attorney

Dedicated, Assertive Lawyers Fighting for Your Justice as a Defendant

Rape is one of the most complex criminal accusations to defend against. The consequences of a conviction are severe, and you may even be labeled for life as a sex offender. At Strickland Agner Pittman, we are dedicated to defending the wrongly accused, and we will do our best to protect your rights at every stage of the criminal justice process. We are not afraid to fight for you in court, and we will build a formidable case that combats the prosecution’s claims against you. At Strickland Agner Pittman, we will treat you and your case with the respect you deserve, especially in the face of unfair rape allegations.


Let us defend you against your rape charges today; schedule an initial consultation with Strickland Agner Pittman to get started.


Statutory Rape Laws in North Carolina

Statutory rape, or sex – consensual or non-consensual – between an adult and a minor under the age of 16, is a serious felony penalized based on the circumstances of the offense:

  • Statutory rape of a child by an adult: This is a B1 felony that involves vaginal intercourse between a child under the age of 13 and an adult who is at least 18 years old. 
  • First degree statutory rape: This is a B1 felony that involves vaginal intercourse between a child who is 12 years or younger and a defendant who is 12 years or older and at least four years older than the alleged victim. 
  • Statutory rape of a person 15 years old or younger: This is a B1 felony if it involves vaginal intercourse between a child who is 15 years or younger and a defendant who is at least 12 years old and at least six years older; the offense is a Class C felony if it involves vaginal intercourse between a child who is 15 years or younger and a defendant who is at least 12 years old and 4-6 years older than the alleged victim.

There are a few exceptions that may come into play for a statutory rape defense. For one, North Carolina has a marital exemption for certain statutory rape crimes. This marital exemption allows consensual sex between a minor and their adult spouse, and the marriage between the couple protects the adult partner from accusations of statutory rape. However, the marital exception does not protect against general rape charges; if one partner alleges that their spouse forced them to have sex with them against their will, there may still be grounds for a rape charge.

North Carolina also recognizes a “Romeo and Juliet” exemption for consensual sex between a minor and someone who is at least 12 years old but no more than four years older than the minor. This exemption protects individuals who fall in this age bracket from statutory rape allegations for consensual sex.

If you have been accused of rape in Goldsboro, do not hesitate to contact an experienced defense attorney immediately to discuss your legal options. Our attorneys at Strickland Agner Pittman take an educational approach with our clients, making sure you understand the language of the relevant laws and your options for navigating these laws. Whether you have been accused of rape or statutory rape, we will explain all your legal options to you so that you can make an informed decision for your future.


Let Strickland Agner Pittman help you argue for mitigated, or even dismissed, charges against wrongful rape allegations. Contact us today to get started.


Two Degrees of Rape in North Carolina

According to North Carolina law, a person commits rape when they engage in a sexual act:

  • with another person by force and against the will of the other person; or 
  • with another person who lacks mental or physical capacity, and the defendant knows or reasonably should know of their incapacity.

There are two degrees of rape charged in the state:

  • First-degree rape: A person forces the alleged victim to have non-consensual sex while possessing a deadly weapon, inflicting serious injury on the other person, or receiving assistance from one or more other individuals. 
  • Second-degree rape: A person forces the alleged victim to have non-consensual sex, and the alleged victim is incapable of giving consent due to a mental disability, incapacitation, or physical helplessness.

First-degree rape is a Class B1 felony punishable by 144 months to life in prison. Second-degree rape is a Class C felony punishable by 44-182 months in prison.