Car Accident Lawyers in Goldsboro


Injured after a car accident? Contact the auto accident lawyers in Goldsoro - Strickland, Agner & Associates.

A car accident can be devastating, leaving a victim with serious or life-threatening injuries that require hospitalization. There is often the possibility of irreversible physical damage or loss of life. Our Goldsboro car accident attorney is here to help.

A car crash can leave you disabled and in pain, particularly when the injuries are serious and emergency medical treatment is required. If you or a loved one has been injured in a car accident in the Goldsboro area, it is crucial that you seek legal advice from an experienced law firm. Your health and well-being – physically, emotionally and financially – are the primary concerns of the car accident lawyers at Strickland Agner Pittman.

Find out how we can help you get the compensation you deserve after a car accident in North Carolina. Call us now or fill out our online contact form for a free consultation that comes with no strings attached. The car wreck lawyers are here to help.

About Car Accidents in North Carolina

Our car accident lawyer represent clients injured in a car accident due to the carelessness of the other driver.A car accident is usually the result of negligence, whether speeding, drunk driving, distracted driving, reckless driving or some other form of carelessness. The operator of a vehicle is at fault when he or she was reckless, even if unintentionally.

Types of reckless driving (NCGS Sect. 20-140) range from distraction, to dangerous vehicle deficiencies (such as bald tires or worn brakes), to driving while intoxicated and others.

The North Carolina safe driving laws include the following:

  • Headlights must be on sunset to sunrise, if visibility is 400 feet or less and if windshield wipers are on.
  • All drivers are forbidden to text while driving and persons under 18 cannot use cell phones unless seeking emergency help by dialing 911.
  • Seat belts must be worn by everyone 16 years old and older, and children younger than 16 must follow the child car seat laws as defined in the North Carolina DMV Manual.

The most common causes of car accidents in the state are:

  • Speeding or failure to reduce speed (NCGS Sect. 21-141).
  • Failure to yield (NCGS Sect. 20-158).
  • Driving while intoxicated (NCGS Sect. 20-138).
  • Dangerous road conditions.
  • Equipment (car) deficiencies (NCGS Chapter 20 article 3).
  • Improper merging or unsafe movements.
  • Driver overreaction to another vehicle’s sudden unsafe movement.

In North Carolina, car accidents in one year accounted for over 1,260 people killed and over 110,000 people injured in over 213,000 total car accidents. The majority of accidents occurred between 7 a.m. and 7 p.m. About 30 percent of the fatal car accidents were speed-related.

How Our Goldsboro Car Accident Lawyer Can Help You

An typical person is not aware of all the state laws and regulations regarding car accidents. There are many ways in which a driver can be held responsible (liable) for an accident that has caused you or a family member to be injured. Protect your rights by letting our team of qualified attorneys review the facts in your case.

When it comes to investigating the cause of a car accident, Strickland Agner Pittman has years of experience. We often work closely with highly respected accident investigators and accident reconstruction experts. Our accident investigators work to determine who was really at fault. In order to do this, it may be necessary to reconstruct the scene and determine the speed, position of vehicles and other important facts.

Car accidents happening along the road.Our attorneys deal with insurance companies and take the worry out of negotiating and settling a claim. We are your advocates – and we fight hard for our clients from start to finish.

If you have never been involved in a car accident before, you will have many questions about your rights and options and about what will happen next as you seek compensation for your injuries and vehicle damage.

At Strickland Agner Pittman, we believe it is important for you to have as much information as possible so that you can have a clear understanding of your case. That is why we have provided answers to the following frequently asked questions in car accident cases.

If you would like to discuss the specific facts and issues in your case, please contact us for a free consultation. We serve clients throughout Goldsboro, Kinston and surrounding areas in North Carolina. We can meet with you today.

Car Accident FAQs

Should I talk with the other driver’s insurance company if they call me?

If the other driver’s insurance company calls, you should politely decline to speak and refer the insurer to your lawyer. Do not give a recorded statement. The insurer may try to use what you say against you.

 

Also, you should never accept a settlement offer from the insurance company until your lawyer has reviewed it first. The lawyer can assess whether the offer would fully and fairly compensate you and advise you accordingly.

How can I get my car repaired or replaced after an accident?

If the other driver’s insurance company calls, you should politely decline to speak and refer the insurer to your lawyer. Do not give a recorded statement. The insurer may try to use what you say against you.

 

Also, you should never accept a settlement offer from the insurance company until your lawyer has reviewed it first. The lawyer can assess whether the offer would fully and fairly compensate you and advise you accordingly.

What are my legal options if I was in a crash while working?

If you were working when a crash occurred, you can file a workers’ compensation claim. You may be eligible for medical benefits and lost-wage benefits that would replace a portion of the income you lose due to your inability to work.

 

If another driver’s negligence caused the crash, you could file a personal injury claim against the driver. This is called a “third-party liability claim.”

 

Keep in mind: Your workers’ compensation insurer would likely place a lien on your recovery and seek to recover its costs.

How can I pay my medical bills while my car accident claim is pending?

If you fail to pay your medical bills, it could negatively affect your credit. So, until your claim is resolved, you should continue to pay your bills through your private health insurance coverage or through Medicare or Medicaid.

 

Keep in mind: A personal injury claim would seek to recover all of your past and future medical expenses.

 

If you lack health insurance, your lawyer can help you to reach a payment plan with your doctor in order to ensure that your treatment goes uninterrupted and your credit rating stays in good shape.

 

As with workers’ compensation, the health insurer will likely seek to recover its costs from your car accident settlement. Your lawyer can help you to resolve this lien.

How much can I recover in a car accident claim?

The amount that you seek in an auto accident claim will depend on many factors, including the extent of your injuries and available insurance coverage. Generally speaking, in a car accident claim filed on your behalf, we would seek full compensation for your:

 

  • Past and future medical expenses
  • Lost wages and reduced future earning capacity
  • Pain and suffering.

 

If you were the victim of another driver’s “willful or wanton conduct,” we could seek punitive damages as well.

Can I recover any money if the other driver had no insurance?

To register a vehicle in North Carolina, you must carry the following minimum amounts of liability coverage:

 

  • $25,000 per accident for property damage
  • $30,000 per person for bodily injury
  • $60,000 per accident for bodily injury.

 

In most cases, you would file a claim through the at-fault driver’s liability coverage. However, if the driver lacks insurance, you would file a claim through your own uninsured motorist (UM) policy. Your insurer must provide this coverage in the same minimum amounts as your liability coverage.

 

In many cases, the other driver’s liability insurance fails to fully cover a victim’s losses. If this occurs in your case, you may be able to turn to your underinsured motorist (UIM) policy. You should have this coverage if you carry liability insurance above the 30/60/25 minimum limits.

 

Unfortunately, even though you have dutifully paid your auto insurance premiums, the insurer may balk at paying a UM/UIM claim. Your lawyer can help you to work with your insurer.

Is it true that you can sue the trucking company if one of its drivers hits you?

If a truck driver caused your accident while carrying on company business, the trucking company could be held liable for the negligence of its employee. It is also possible that the trucking company’s own negligence contributed to the tractor-trailer crash.

 

For instance, the company may have been negligent in the hiring, training or supervision of the driver or allowed an unsafe tractor-trailer to be on the road. In some cases, a trucking company may force its drivers to break hours-of-service rules that limit the number of hours they can be on the road.

 

It is important to work with a lawyer who knows how to conduct a comprehensive and immediate investigation of a truck crash in order to ensure that important evidence is preserved and collected.

If I was partially at fault for the crash, will it hurt my case?

Unfortunately, North Carolina is one of the few states in the country that follows the doctrine of pure contributory negligence. Under this doctrine, you could be barred from a recovery if you were even one percent at fault for your auto accident.

 

With that said, there are several exceptions to this rule that may apply in your case. For instance, despite your negligence, if the other driver had the “last clear chance” to avoid the accident, you may still be able to recover. Additionally, if the driver was engaged in “willful or wanton conduct” such as drunk driving, you would not be barred from seeking compensation.

 

Additionally, contributory negligence typically cannot be raised as a defense when a child is a victim. In North Carolina, a child under age 7 is presumed to be incapable of negligence. If the child is between ages 7 and 14, the child’s incapacity is presumed but able to be overcome by proof of negligence.

 

Your lawyer can play an important role in challenging any undue claims of contributory negligence, which often arise in motorcycle, bicycle and pedestrian accident claims.

Can I sue the bar that served the drunk driver who hit me?

Under some circumstances, you may be able to file what is called a “dram shop” claim against a negligent ABC store, convenience store, bar or restaurant that served a drunk driver who injured you.

 

To prevail, you must present evidence that the business sold or otherwise furnished alcohol to a driver who was either:

 

  • Noticeably or visibly intoxicated at the time, or
  • Under the age of 21.

 

The evidence would also need to establish that the sale of the alcohol contributed to the driver’s impairment, and in turn, the driver’s impairment caused the accident.

Will I need to go to court?

The reality is that most car accident cases that we handle for our clients do not go to trial. Many cases can be resolved through a settlement with the at-fault driver’s insurance company.

 

A settlement can provide timely payment of the compensation you are due and bring a sense of much-needed closure, allowing you to move on with your life.

 

However, in order to give your case the best chance of being resolved through a settlement, it is important to work with a law firm that will prepare your case as if it is going to trial. A well-prepared case will give you leverage when negotiating with the insurance company.

 

If your case cannot be resolved through a settlement, you can count on the experienced litigators of Strickland, Agner & Associates to be ready to present the strongest possible case on your behalf in the courtroom.

How long will my car accident case take?

Many factors will influence how long it takes to resolve your car accident claim, including:

 

  • The amount of investigation that will be required
  • Whether multiple parties are involved
  • The willingness of the insurance company (or companies) to make a settlement offer that fully and fairly compensates you
  • If a case goes to trial, the amount of evidence that each side presents
  • Whether any post-trial motions or appeals are filed by either side.

 

Your case will be resolved sooner if a settlement is reached. Of course, the decision of whether to settle will always be yours alone to make.

What will it cost me to hire a lawyer for my car accident case?

At Strickland, Agner & Associates, we can represent you on a contingency fee basis in your personal injury or wrongful death claim. This means that you will pay no legal fees unless and until we are able to obtain a financial recovery for you.

 

If we are successful in your case, we would be paid a percentage of your recovery. That percentage would be discussed and agreed upon at the outset of our representation.

Discuss Your Case with an Experienced Car Accident Attorney in Goldsboro

Our car wreak lawyer will help you seek justice and get the maximum compensation for your injuries.Help is only a phone call away, and we stand ready to get your injury claim moving forward. Call on our firm to professionally handle all legal issues related to your car accident, including filings, medical records and reports, accident investigation, financial evaluations regarding current and future estimated losses and all other details.

There is no up-front charge for our services. We are paid only when we recover compensation for you. Strickland Agner Pittman provides free consultations to car accident victims in Goldsboro and surrounding areas. Let us give you peace of mind and the compassionate, professional legal advice that you need.

Contact us now for a free claim review and discussion of your legal options.

Sources: